About Me

How to Contact Me:

You can reach me via email at nelly.ali@gmail.com

A Little on the Human Me:

I am a British-Egyptian. Born in London and attached to Egypt. I ache to be a functioning part of a country that’s history and struggle fills me with pride. This is a personal blog where you will find a mixture of my ramblings on human rights and socio-politics in Egypt and about my personal struggles living in London.

More and more, this blog is becoming a vessel for the voices of the most incredible children you could ever imagine – my street girls.

What I’ve Studied:

  • Master of Laws (LLM) Human Rights and I gained a distinction for my dissertation in 2003 titled: “Freedom of Expression in Egypt; Between Politics and Religion”
  • I am currently a doctoral student at Birkbeck, University of London working on an ethnography of street girls and young street mothers in Cairo, Egypt. My research interests include the health-seeking behaviour of street children, their experience of resilience, vulnerability, violence and shame and how gender is constructed on the streets.

What I Teach:

  • Module Leader and Lecturer for the Childhood Studies module at the Institute of Education
  • Associate Tutor on the MSc International Childhood Studies program at Birkbeck
  • Lecturer of Childhood Studies and Research Methods at Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge

The Other Things I Do:

  • Intern Editor for Peer Reviewed Journal – MaMSIE
  • Project and Implementation Manager (volunteer) at Hope Village Society (NGO)
  • Op-Ed writer for The Egypt Independent and Al Shorouk News

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog.

16 Comments

  1. Hey there! I realize this is somewhat off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does running a well-established website like yours take a large amount of work?

    I’m completely new to operating a blog but I do write in my journal everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or
    tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  2. Excellent beat ! I need to apprentice because you amend your web site, how can i subscribe inside a blog site?
    The account aided us a acceptable deal. I have already been tiny bit
    acquainted with this your broadcast provided bright clear idea I
    am extremely impressed in addition to ability as a copywriter and in addition combined with the layout upon your blog -.
    Is niagra a paid theme or maybe you have modify it yourself?

    In either case maintain the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to learn a nice blog the same as it nowadays.. Pretty part of content. Not long ago i found your weblog along with accession capital to claim which i acquire actually enjoyed account your web site posts. Anyway I’ll
    be signing up your feeds as well as I achievement you access consistently fast.
    My sister suggested I am going to of this nature blog. He was totally
    right. This article actually made my day. You can not consider simply
    just how long Used to do spent for the info!
    Thanks! I don’t know about investing websites ended up here, however i thought this text was good. I don’t know your identity
    but certainly you might be traversing to a prominent blogger
    in case you aren’t already😉 Cheers! Heya i’m somebody
    responsible for here. I stumbled on this board well, i believe it is really useful & it
    solved the problem out much. Associated with to produce something back and aid some just
    like you helped meI’d been recommended this website by my auntie. I’m doubtful whether this post is composed by him as no-one else know such comprehensive about my trouble.
    You happen to be wonderful! Thanks!

  3. After I originally commented I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me when
    new comments are added- checkbox and from now on every time a comment is
    added I get 4 emails with the same comment. There
    has to be a means you can remove me from that service?
    Kudos!

  4. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it
    for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. appreciate it

  5. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyhow, great site!

  6. Hi would you mind letting me know which web host you’re using? I’ve
    loaded your blog in 3 completely different web browsers and I must
    say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you
    recommend a good hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  7. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and
    was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having
    a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?

    I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% positive. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

